Off to a rocky start…

Thursday, February 18, 2016

2016 did not start at all as I’d hoped or anticipated. My goal coming into the year was to stay healthy. I’ve been injured/recovering each of the past 2 years for many summer weeks following Western States and I was hoping to avoid a similar layoff at any point this year.

My right hip had different ideas. Admittedly, I probably jumped back in too quickly in terms of volume, but I was chomping at the bit to get running and the soreness that came on in the first couple days (most notably in my IT bands and achilles) basically subsided by days 5-6, with one exception: my right hip flexor/groin/general front part of that area. It got worse over the course of Saturday and Sunday and by Monday I was unable to run. So I got on the bike for the following week, got some PT, and felt good enough to start back the week of Jan 18. 3 days of running later, I was back on the bike. I took another 9 days off running and was able to get things under control about 3 weeks ago with the help of some massage therapy. Basically, what we think was happening was my right quad was really tight and was pulling on my hip area (thus the general pain the area as opposed to a specific hip issue like my flexor). Things have loosened with massage and rolling and stretching and since Jan 30, I’ve been building up fairly cautiously. It’s great to run without pain and I’m hoping to be able to contain my enthusiasm going forward to prevent another setback.

What this issue has really done is make me even more committed to staying healthy for the balance of 2016. I’d love to avoid another prolonged layoff over the summer (or at any other point). A lot of that revolves around me listening to my body as soon as something starts to bug me. I think I can do that. I’d better. Looking back on the past 3 injuries (including this one), I’ve acquired a cyclocross bike (summer ’14), a mountain bike (summer ’15), and a car (Jan. ’16) during those periods. If nothing else, I need to avoid getting injured to save my wallet 😛

2016-02-13 09.44.20

Finally going the distance at the SFRC Saturday morning group run. (PC: Emily Kraus)

Looking at my race calendar, Way Too Cool is still on the table. I won’t be nearly as fit as I’d hoped, but it will at least be a nice long, hard effort, if I’m comfortable enough with my progression to toe the line. The big goal for the first part of the year is still Lake Sonoma. Again, I won’t have the quite the volume of training I had heading into last year, but I’ll do what I can with what I’ll have and that’s about all I can ask of myself.

2016-02-14 09.42.57

View from the East Peak of Mt. Tam this past Sunday.

About afvarner

Runner. Donuts. Sneakerhead. Not necessarily in that order. Nike Trail Elite. Picky Bars. Gu. Vicory Sportdesign.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Off to a rocky start…

  1. Glad you’re on the mend! I look forward to seeing you for the first mile or so at Way Too Cool.

  2. Tina Muir says:

    Hi Alex,

    My name is Tina Muir, and I am an elite runner for Saucony and the Community Manager for Runners Connect. I am also the host of the Run to the Top Podcast (60,000 downloads per month).

    On the Runners Connect blog, I am sharing the best tips from some of the most influential trail runners in the world, and of course you came to mind.

    Is there an email I can reach you on, I just had one quick question for you please 🙂

    Thanks!

  3. Pingback: Ultramarathon Daily News, Mon, Feb 22 - UltraRunnerPodcast: Ultramarathon News, Podcasts, and Product Reviews

Leave a Reply

